Seals vs. Marines

--

January 19th, 2004  
diplomatic_means

Topic: Seals vs. Marines

Ok so I'm no guru but what is the difference in purpose and training between a Navy Seal and a Marine? Which is considered more elite? What is the difference between the types of operations they will be deployed to? thanks.
January 19th, 2004  
FutureRANGER

Well I'm no expert about either but I can tell you this much.

The Marines are a whole branch of military. They are a basic ground fighting force, the infantry.

Navy SEALS are special forces of the Navy. They are elite, and go through extensive special training. This is a really cool site you can learn about them from. http://www.navyseals.com/community/main.cfm
January 19th, 2004  
GuyontheRight

The difference? It costs 1 million of the taxpayers money for each seal

No but seriously, SEALs are much more specialized then the marines, there are only a few thousand of 'em. And as Ranger said, Marines are a whole Branch, I mean, it depends on what kind of marine unit your talking about. You got you MEUs and your Force Recons, your armored units and field artillery.
--
January 19th, 2004  
SHERMAN

Topic: thousends?

I dont know mucj about USA special forces, but i think its ccloser to a few houndred Seals....about a bettalion...any ways, Marines are like Army infantry that started out as snipers and ship boarders in the navy and became seaborn infantry...They are considers better the regular grunts, but definetly not Special Forces...I think the seals are more like the British Commando?again, im not sure. Israel dosent have marines....We have tankstankstankstankstankstankstankstankstankstanks tankstanks!!!!
January 19th, 2004  
diplomatic_means

Ok so the SEALs are maritime counterparts to the Green Berets. So then what differs them from the green berets if the SEALs are Sea, Air and Land trained elite fighters? Whats left for the Green Berets to do?
January 19th, 2004  
GuyontheRight

Actually it's closer to 2000 I think.