Why did you join the military? why not something else?

--

January 9th, 2006  
JulesLee

Topic: Why did you join the military? why not something else?

Hmm.. I want to know why you guys chose the way of the military instead of other 1000 jobs out there.
January 9th, 2006  
phoenix80

I was drafted into the Military! Didn't have a choice plus I liked it any ways!
January 9th, 2006  
AussieNick

Family heritage and to serve my country.
--
January 9th, 2006  
bulldogg

Honest answer is around the end of September right after I graduated high school and just before my 19th birthday me and my old man got into a pretty good shouting match. It ended with him telling me "You are 18, an adult now, you've graduated high school and its time for you to get out. You've got 30 days to figure it out but you no longer live here."

The Air Force was my first choice as I wanted to be a pararescue medic goin in after downed pilots. But they said the earliest I could ship for basic was six months out and my old man was not up for negotiating my departure date. The Army said they would guarantee in my contract being a combat medic and that at MEPS I could get medical clearnace for Airborne and would ship to Basic in 30 days... the rest is history.
January 9th, 2006  
Team Infidel

Go to jail or go to the Army.......

Just kidding.. I love my country.
January 9th, 2006  
Motor-T

I was 17 and quit school and wasn't going anywhere
in life. I was always taught noone should ever have a free ride,
while others pay for it. It is the best thing I ever did in my life.
January 9th, 2006  
5.56X45mm

My country was under attack and I saw that i had the chance to fight back and protect those that I love.

'Nuff Said...
January 9th, 2006  
Missileer

No money. Couldn't do anything else.
January 9th, 2006  
sunb!