Hello all. I am a duty light designer.

neoseikan

Hi. I am a flashlight designer in China.
Joined here to seek your advices about military lighting.
I have designed a few flashlights from 0.06 Lumen to 740 Lumens.
And might work on special lighting devices such as IR/UV headlamps for anti-bomb units.
After all, I feel quite great to find this forum.
Yours, Neoseikan

Welcome Neoseikan.

A very interesting subject, especially with all of the new bright LEDs that are now available. My son recently purchased one of these torches and it amazed me with it's output and long battery life.

Thank you!
Designing LED flashlight is quite challenging.
Because LED tech grows quite fast. We should keep the design upgradeable.
In 2004, most light use 5mm LEDs, and some of them use LUXEON 1W or 3W ones. It can produce 30~80 Lumens from the LED, and less than 60Lumens from the light.
After that, the output ability is 100Luemsn, 130 Lumens, 150 Lumens, 180 Lumens, and 200Lumens.
Last year, CREE released MC-E LED, most hi-end LED flashlights used it.
Designers have been working on it for more than a year.
In my poor experience, most police officers use bulb lights such as MAG 2D/3D or Pelican LED lights, such as 7060 or 8060. And military people use Surefire lights.
What's the model your son get?

BTW, I noticed your avatar, there is a headlamp. Is it a bulb one?

Welcome Neoseikan.

A very interesting subject, especially with all of the new bright LEDs that are now available. My son recently purchased one of these torches and it amazed me with it's output and long battery life.

Last edited:
Thank you!
Designing LED flashlight is quite challenging.
Because LED tech grows quite fast. We should keep the design upgradeable.
In 2004, most light use 5mm LEDs, and some of them use LUXEON 1W or 3W ones. It can produce 30~80 Lumens from the LED, and less than 60Lumens from the light.
After that, the output ability is 100Luemsn, 130 Lumens, 150 Lumens, 180 Lumens, and 200Lumens.