WW2 88mm german shell

--

October 29th, 2011  
BANDIT14

Topic: WW2 88mm german shell

Just found an 88mm shell, detonator slightly damaged but base is missing and interior empty.
could the shell have blown the bottom out on impact without damaging the rest of the shell?
I'm a little puzzled by this one.
any help would be appreciated.
October 29th, 2011  
BritinAfrica

Quote:
Originally Posted by BANDIT14
Just found an 88mm shell, detonator slightly damaged but base is missing and interior empty.
could the shell have blown the bottom out on impact without damaging the rest of the shell?
I'm a little puzzled by this one.
any help would be appreciated.
I'm no expert, but I'd strongly and seriously suggest that you get hold of someone who knows what they are looking at.
October 29th, 2011  
BANDIT14

Thats why I'm asking, I've seen many shells in my time but never with the bottom missing, there is no explosive damage to the base, damage is purely oxidation.
--
October 29th, 2011  
BritinAfrica

I meant, get hold of someone physically and let him/her/them examine it in detail, such as your local Bomb Disposal team.

A young boy in UK years ago found an 81mm Mortar bomb on a gunnery range buried almost to its fins, he assumed it was a dud and kicked it. He ended up as a red mist.

UXB's are still being found all over the UK, even after all this time. Its reckoned that there are still plenty of live munitions on the bottom of the River Thames, just waiting for someone to come along and dredge them up.
October 29th, 2011  
BANDIT14

I'm in France, I started this link hoping that someone could shed some light on the matter, why the bottom would be off an 88mm German WW2 shell with no apparent blast damage or marks to show it was removed physically.
If anybody has seen a similar shell or can tell me why it is in this condition, that would be super. I dont think they where using it as a dice shaker or large mug, but who knows...............??
October 29th, 2011  
AFSteliga