Need some geopolitics questions answered

deerslayer

Milforum Swamp Dweller
Well, I've been working for four years on writing a novel/expose for fourth generation warfare, and I have a problem. After looking at what I originally wrote as the final climactic firefight, I realized that, since the inception of new prosecution laws for servicemen in 2004, I cannot expect my central characters to get away cleanly with a firefight with German polizei. So, the story thus far

A pair of disaffected Russian soldiers, taken from active duty after Chechnya and furious with the state of affairs in Russia, plan a coup, financed by black-market dealings. The plan? Stage a successful coup by funneling money to a left-wing ex-neo-Nazi's bid for political power in Germany, creating a general sense of fear and distrust between their respective nations, then eliminate him at the critical moment, and seize power as the situation reaches a crisis point.

My problem is that there is a scene in which a small contingent of Russian and American shooters, operating in tandem, have a very large and protracted firefight with German polizei. However, since I can no longer realistically do that, I decided to simply use the atmosphere of fear as an excuse to declare martial law in this small town and achieve the same results- much easier to write off than a firefight involving police. This is one of the climactic scenes in the book and I really enjoyed writing the draft, so I don't want to screw it up on account of inaccuracy. This may seem like an unintelligent question, but...

Under a German regime starting a process of gradual remilitarization, and a Russian government feeling threatened by this regime, tensions everywhere woudl be running high. Would this be a good excuse to declare martial law in a border city to provide a location for this skirmish?

Hardest part of writing something is finding excuses for a plot twist, not the twist itself. Thanks in advance.