Military To Stay In Schools

marinecadet

Dear Hippies,

Just because you want recruiters and JROTC out of high schools doesn't mean everyone else does too. I AM a high school student and there is no obligation that I have to enlist, talk to a recruiter, or even join JROTC. You're ruining the fun for teenagers who want military experience and/or to enlist. So ignore the recruiter, don't enlist, and don't join JROTC and most of all F**K OFF!!! It doesn't promote violence, gangs, and guns. It makes your son/daughter come home dressed up properly, respectful, able to defend him or herself. If these hippies take away your experience then check these sites out.

www.militarycadets.org
www.cap.gov
www.seacadets.org
www.theyoungmarines.org

Sincerely,

Me

i agree with you. how can you essentially keep the military from recruiting on school property when you allow other colleges the right to be there? this is one of the reasons the military doesnt reach its recruiting goals. since when is joining the armed forces a bad thing?

I have no issue with the military in schools, although I do question some of the recruiting tactics. For example, one of the complaints of soldiers is the recuitment commericals and the half-truths they tell.

If you watch the commericals you get the impression that going into the army is some sort of happy adventure, kind of like camp or the Boy Scouts. Some of them remind me of Club-Med commericals. Others make some dubious claims. For example the teaching of 'skills'. Some of these skills are of little value in civilian value. I saw a documentary of a young sailor on an aircraft carrier, in the film he never stops cursing they day he signed up? Why? His 'skills' the recruiter promised him was cleaning the Ships Head and doing crew laundry. Im sure the brochure mentioned nothing about this.