Navy RanksUS Navy Rank InsigniaNavy Ranks
US Navy Rank Insignia

Military Ranks > Navy Ranks, US Navy Rank Insignia

Navy Ranks
US Navy Rank Insignia

More Rank Insignia
- Air Force Rank Insignia
- Army Rank Insignia
- Marine Corps Rank Insignia

Military Gear Categories:
- Military Uniforms, BDU
- Knives, Machetes, Bayonets
- Military Gifts
- Military Name Tapes
- Military Dog Tags
- Military Boots
- Military Rings
- Military Medals
- Military Flags
- Military Headgear
- Military Backpacks
- Military Surplus
- Meals Ready to Eat - MRE
- Russian Surplus
- War and Movie Posters


Presented By:

Military Quotes
2000 military related quotes, 700 unit mottos, and lots of other jokes/humor.

US Navy Ranks
Navy Rank Insignia and Navy Pay Grades

Navy Ranks, US Navy Rank Insignia

Scroll down to identify and learn about US Navy Enlisted Ranks,
Warrant Officer Ranks and US Navy Officer Ranks and Pay Grades

US Navy Ranks and Navy Rank Insignia

Navy Ranks are more than just who salutes whom.
Navy rank is a badge of leadership.
Responsibility for personnel, equipment, and mission grows with each increase in rank.

Do not confuse rank with pay grades, such as E-1, W-2 and O-5.
Pay grades are administrative classifications used primarily to standardize compensation
across the military services.
The "E" in E-1 stands for "enlisted" while the "1" indicates the pay grade for that position.
The other pay categories are "W" for warrant officers and "O" for commissioned officers.
Some enlisted pay grades have two ranks.

Rank images and info from
Find a historic overview of Military Ranks and Military Rank Insignia here:

Military Forums, Click to join

US Navy Enlisted Ranks, Enlisted Rank Insignia
Service members in pay grades E-1 through E-3 are usually either in
some kind of training status or on their initial assignment.
The training includes the basic training phase where recruits are immersed in military culture
and values and are taught the core skills required by their service component.
Basic training is followed by a specialized or advanced training phase that provides recruits with a specific area of expertise or concentration.
In the Navy this area is known as a Rate.
A specialty mark in the center of a rating badge indicates the wearer's particular rating.
Gold stripes indicate 12 or more years of good conduct.
1. Master chief petty officer of the Navy and fleet and force master chief petty officers.
2. Command master chief petty officers wear silver stars.
3. Master chief petty officers wear silver stars and silver specialty rating marks
Pay Grade: E2
Seaman Apprentice
Seaman Apprentice
Pay Grade: E3
Pay Grade: E4
Petty Officer Third Class
Petty Officer Third Class
Leadership responsibility significantly increases in the mid-level enlisted ranks. This responsibility is given formal recognition by use of the term petty officer.
The Navy NCO, petty officer, is achieved at the rank of petty officer third class
Pay Grade: E5

Petty Officer Second Class
Pay Grade: E6

Petty Officer First Class
Pay Grade: E7

Chief Petty Officer
E-8s and E-9s have 15 to 30 years on the job, and are commanders' senior advisers for enlisted matters.
A third E-9 element is the senior enlisted person of the US Navy.
The Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy is the spokespersons of the enlisted force at the highest levels of their services
Pay Grade: E8

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Pay Grade: E9

Master Chief Petty Officer

Pay Grade: E9

Master Chief Petty
Pay Grade: E9
Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy
Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy

US Navy Warrant Officer Ranks
Officer ranks in the United States Navy consist of commissioned officers and warrant officers.

Warrant officers hold warrants from their service secretary and are specialists and experts in certain military technologies or capabilities. The lowest ranking warrant officers serve under a warrant, but they receive commissions from the president upon promotion to chief warrant officer 2. These commissioned warrant officers are direct representatives of the president of the United States. They derive their authority from the same source as commissioned officers but remain specialists, in contrast to commissioned officers, who are generalists.
W5 was established in the Navy in 2002.

Naval officers wear distinctively different rank devices depending upon the uniform they're wearing. The three basic uniforms and rank devices used are: khakis, collar insignia pins; whites, stripes on shoulder boards; and blues, stripes sewn on the lower coat sleeves.

Pay Grade: W1
Warrant Officer 1
No longer in Use
Pay Grade: W2

Chief Warrant Officer 2
Pay Grade: W3

Chief Warrant Officer 3
Pay Grade: W4

Chief Warrant Officer 4
Pay Grade: W5

Chief Warrant Officer 5

Military Forum and Chat

US Navy Officer Ranks
The commissioned ranks are the highest in the military. These officers hold presidential commissions and are confirmed at their ranks by the Senate. US Navy officers are called junior grade officers in the pay grades of O-1 to O-3, mid-grade officers in pay grades O-4 to O-6 and flag officers in pay grades O-7 and higher.
Pay Grade: O1
Pay Grade: O2

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Pay Grade: O3
Navy ranks Lieutenant
Pay Grade: O4

Lieutenant Commander
Pay Grade: O5

Pay Grade: O6


Pay Grade: O7

Rear Admiral Lower Half

Pay Grade: O8

Rear Admiral Upper Half

Pay Grade: O9
Navy ranks Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Pay Grade: O10

Chief of Naval Operations
Pay Grade: O11

Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
(Wartime only)
The rank of Fleet Admiral has been reserved for war time use only. The last Fleet Admirals were in World War II. Fleet Admirals during that war were Chester W. Nimitz, William D. Leahy, Ernest J. King, and William F. Halsey.

Buy Navy Ranks, Rank Insignia, Badges, Patches, Navy Medals and more Navy gear

Identify and learn about US Navy Ranks and Navy Rank Insignia