Hornish wins 3rd Qtr DOTY award

Team Infidel

Forum Spin Doctor
Although Sam Hornish, Jr.'s IndyCar title came down to the last lap, of the last race of the series, he was easy winner in the voting for Third Quarter Driver of the Year. Hornish, driving the Marlboro Team Penske Dallara-Honda, won the Indy 500 earlier in the year and won three out of the eight races in this quarter with a second and third place finish. He also had one pole during this period. In the voting, by an elite panel of print and broadcast journalists, Hornish got a majority of the first-place votes. Hornish, a prior quarterly winner, took nine out of the 17 first-place votes and totaled 115 points. Kevin Harvick, who took two wins, clinched a spot in the Nextel Cup series, and has a commanding lead in the Busch Series with three wins in the period, was second in the ballot earning five first-place votes with a total of 81 points. AJ Allmendinger, who broke into the win column in the Champ Car World Series earlier this year, had three victories and garnered two first-place votes, totaled 69 points in the Forsythe Championship Racing Lola Ford-Cosworth. Matt Kenseth, a former champion in Nextel Cup, took the only other first-place vote finishing fourth in the voting with 68 points. A total of 15 drivers scored points in the third quarter voting. In its' 40th year Driver of the Year is unique because it is the oldest award that encompasses all of the racing series in the United States. A panel of 17 leading journalists and broadcasters from across the U.S. determine the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9,6,4,3,2,1 basis. A separate one-driver vote will determine the 2006 Driver of the Year. In recognition of the honor, Hornish will receive a trophy and a Maurice Lacroix, wristwatch. The trophy presentation will take place later this year.(DOTY PR)