Question about whether I should Enlist or Commission?

Daffydd

I'm currently 23, a senior in college, and planning on joining the Army. I've been talking to a recruiter who has been talking to me about enlisting rather than pushing for OCS. Now my main question is, how hard will it be for me to either go to OCS when I'm enlisted, or to Direct Commission. Also, how long would I have to be enlisted before either option would be open, and at that time how much, if not all, of my enlistment bonus would I loose?

Also i would like any feedback about whether or not people feel that having enlistment time is a bonus to being an officer, and if there is a prefered amount people feel is applicable.

Thank you for any replies!

Usually at basic if you show that you're a cut above your peers, the people running your training unit will recommend you to become an officer.

Good question. I actually was presented with the same issue back in may after I graduated. I ended up enlisting and now going in as a e4, 5k high grad bonus, and 65k loan repayment(I actually have over 80k of student loans). My mos is 19kilo and I'm doing a 3yr enlistment. If you go enlisted you will pick your mos and receive the loan repayment if the loans are federally backed. If u go officer u will have ur mos chosen for u, which will most likley be infantry, and no loan repayment. I am happy with what I have chose to do, except my parents of course. I leave for fort knox in oct for basic and I can't wait. Choose wisely but I can garentee u that a recruiter will want u to go enlisted because it is less work for him.

Yeh, I am leaning towards the enlistment option to kill off my student loans since after this year I'll have almost 50k. But, I still can't figure out how I'll be able to move to Officer once I'm in.