Hello dear forummates

peiper

I live in Istanbul, Turkey and I work as an executive for a conglomerate. I am 38 years old married w/ no kids. I accidentally bumped into the site while I was searching for a military character and very glad to do so.
My military career has been limited to the mandatory service in the Turkish Army. I got training in Special Forces as a sniper of SVD Dragunov and still classified as A1 as a reserve.

My hobbies are research on Ottoman History, WW2 and Waffen SS. I do own an extensive multimedia collection for WW2.

Best Regards to everyone.

welcome to the forum. although i have a big mouth, and am trying to correct that.[with help of course] i can talk about anything to almost anyone. :lol:

Welcome Peiper.

I've been a couple of times in Turkey, in Alanya (I think it was called that.), did some scuba diving there :D

Welcome. Had a few of you fellas tag along with us on an Op once or twice - had the best time watching one of yours eat a dehydrated potato once.

RnderSafe said:
Had a few of you fellas tag along with us on an Op once or twice - had the best time watching one of yours eat a dehydrated potato once.

Where was this Op? Also, I couldn't understand the humor behind eating a dehydrated potato (is it sth like a potato chip?), probably due to my lack of knowledge and poor command of English. Would you be kind enough to explain what a dehydrated potato is and what is so funny about watching a guy eating it?

Best Regards,

We have a saying in Italy, to make fun of someone who smokes a lot:

"You smoke as much as a Turkish does ", or " To smoke like the Turkish ".
I guess it dates back to the Ottoman Empire, you know narghilé and stuff like that.

Nice, real nice

A good story, but that's as good as it gets, just a ficitonal story.

There can be no Turkish officer without English as his or her second language as it is mandatory to study it all through military scools and academies. This includes NCOs.