Why did you join the military? why not something else?

JulesLee

Hmm.. I want to know why you guys chose the way of the military instead of other 1000 jobs out there.:p

I was drafted into the Military! Didn't have a choice plus I liked it any ways!;-)

Last edited:
Honest answer is around the end of September right after I graduated high school and just before my 19th birthday me and my old man got into a pretty good shouting match. It ended with him telling me "You are 18, an adult now, you've graduated high school and its time for you to get out. You've got 30 days to figure it out but you no longer live here."

The Air Force was my first choice as I wanted to be a pararescue medic goin in after downed pilots. But they said the earliest I could ship for basic was six months out and my old man was not up for negotiating my departure date. The Army said they would guarantee in my contract being a combat medic and that at MEPS I could get medical clearnace for Airborne and would ship to Basic in 30 days... the rest is history.

I was 17 and quit school and wasn't going anywhere
in life. I was always taught noone should ever have a free ride,
while others pay for it. It is the best thing I ever did in my life.

My country was under attack and I saw that i had the chance to fight back and protect those that I love.

'Nuff Said...

The option of spending time at the local bar drinking with communist/red extreme activist freaks and being unemployed most of the time did not suit me, so I used the chance the conscription system gave me and went off. Never looked back since.

Box of Rocks

The reason I went into the military was very simple - I was 17 years old, bored with school, and dumber than a box of rocks when it came to the rest of the world.

I got into two 'fights' with teachers and figured enough was enough.

On my 17th birthday (22 NOV 61) I took my physical and via the Delayed Entry Program, I entered the Army on 27 DEC 61).