Whats with the Swiss?

M1karava

Whats with the Swiss?

Nobody hears about them or I don't anyway. Do they just claim neutrality to everything or am I just ignorant. I have heard the reason that Hitler avoided them during WWII is because of their training. The way a person explained it to me is that they were like a modern Sparta. Everyone had to serve at least two years in the military. And when they got out they all had an automatic weapon with 20 rounds of ammo and participated in monthly trainings in their local militia/guard or something.

So tell me whats with the Swiss am I wrong. And If in right they must have one good military. Or im just stupid and have no idea what imtalking about either way ( I know Im saying this a lot)

What Is With The Swiss?

I am no expert on the swiss army, but have been working and living there for some time, here is what I remember:

- The Swiss army is follows a Militia model, its mission is to defend the Swiss territory (and, in case of uproar or inssurection, to protect the state)

- the basic defensive idea is called "Raumverteidigung" (Area defense), where certaaain units are responsible for defending specifically dedicated areas of the territory, thus making the price for an invasion (Swizerland with its mountains - alps - is not really suitable terrain for fighting with armor) extremely high. All mountains have large bases inside and underground, even the military airports aare to some extent inside the mountains. Allegedly because of this a high percentage of the Swiss bases is nuke proof.

- all male Swiss are obliged (females can volunteer) to present themselves with earliest 18 and latest 25 for the militay and the recrute training. Of those around 70% - that pass the medical tests - go to the military, the rest does civil protection service.