US Submarines vs the German U-Boat. Who made the better Sub?

mmarsh

I just started playing Silent Hunter III (excellent sub sim for anyone who likes sims) and I got to be thinking. The were two major sub forces the Germans and the Americans. If we exclude things like the XXI and XXIII boats (as they never made it to combat). Each side had some nifty gadgets such as pattern running torpedoes for the Germans and a Superior Surface Rader for the Yanks.

Which was the more effective boat and why?

To Moderator

This is one of these gray area subjects I wasnt sure where to put it if you want to move it can you please PM me?

The American Submarines were larger and better designed. The American subs were designed for long patrols in the Pacific and had air conditioners and a primitive fire control system and the only thing that let them down for years were their torpedo's. The German submarine had been based on earlier designs and were for much shorter journeys into the Atlantic. Also on the German subs the crew conditions were far worse than the American subs. Later German designs where greatly improved but by then it was to late to have any affect on the war.

That is a tough one actually. The American torpedo at the beginning of the war was so terrible it's difficult to assess for me. It's like having a great gun whose bullet bounces off the target 1/2 the time.

Im really having a hard time deciding. LeeEnfield had some good points but I will make a few remarks both ways...

First, The German had the same problems with the magnetic pistol detonators of their torpedos as the Americans, Resulting in a number of duds. However the Germans were faster to fix these problems. Secondly the Germans invented pattern running (best against convoys) and the first acoustic torpedo (a ASW ship killer). On the other hand America Subs had more torpedo tubes and carried more fish (Germans called them eels).