Is there any hope for me? (U.S. Army pilot questions)

d_vannielen

First of all, I would like to say hi to everyone here. This is my first post, so please don't be too hard on me :D. Now, to the point. I am currently a 20year old junior in college, and have about another year and a half left until I get my degree. My ultimate goal in life is to become a helicopter pilot, and everything I have read about the subject seems to suggest that the best possible flight training is through the military (in particular...the Army). Plus, getting a commercial rotorcraft license through civilian flight training is unbelievably expensive.

I have looked over some of the requirements of being accepted into the warrant officer program, and most of them don't seem like they would be a huge problem (I am a semi pro road cyclist, so I'm in pretty good physical shape and am holding a 4.0GPA at the moment-I'm not sure if that counts for anything though). However, I don't have 20/20 uncorrected vision, and have to wear contacts. Everything I have read says that this is an automatic disqualifier, but there HAS to be some way around it! I've done some research and it seems like surgery, orthokeratology, etc. are not allowed. My eyes are not really bad, so I have even considered trying those "eye exercises" you see advertised to see if it makes a difference (although it sounds kind of like a scam to me). Do any of you know about this or anything else I could do to correct my vision without breaking the rules (like lasik). I have also heard about waivers available to some in order to get PRK surgery. Any information about it would be GREATLY appreciated. I did a search on the subject, but could not find anthing very revelant to the topic.