T80 and T90 vs M1A1 without depleted uranium armour

Bampto

Hi Everyone.
I am a year 12 student in South Australia, Australia. One of my subjects is politics and for it I have to do an individual study on a political issue. My study is on the Howard governments decision to buy the M1A1 without the depleted uranium armour. This interests me as I hope to join the armoured core at the end of my education, hopefully at the end of this year.

I would be very grateful if people would give me thier opinions about the wisdom of purchasing the M1A1 for Australia, considering the models will lack depleted uranium armour. Also do you think this will reduce their surviviablity to the point were T80 and T 90s will be able to better them in terms of crew surviability and general peformance. Also Australia is also only buying 59, a token rather than effective force. Should Australia have spent the money on more JSFs (when they finnaly are built) or light armour? Anything will be helpful

The M1A1D can definitely outshoot the T-80 and T-90, which is really what's important. The sights, gun, fire control, loader, and interface are better. It's got better comm. systems too.

The M1A1D is rated at 600mm KE and 1300mm HEAT, better the T-80U. The T-90 has 800mm KE and 1200mm HEAT, but tends to pop it's turret off.

I'd put a T-90 on par with an M1A1, the digital component of the M1A1D gives it that edge.

dont know

the M1A1 has better computers and i think the material will be lighter which could speed it up a bit, i would go with the M1A1.

i know

without all that heavy depleated urnanium, i guess it could speed it up a bit.

The reason the Abrams is so much heavier then the T-90 is because it's a much larger tank, and has one more crewmen. Despite that the Abrams' turbine gives it very good acceleration and speed.