Suppose I need a waiver, is it even possible?

crayonforhelp

A few years ago I spoke to a really super sleazy Navy recruiter. I told him going in that I didn't plan on joining until I graduated with my B.A., but I wanted to get some advice on how to go about it. Took the practice ASVAB and got a 98, but haven't taken the actual one so I don't know how that would go.

He asked me if I had ever smoked pot, I told him I had tried it a few times, mostly in high school, but never really liked it. I don't think he ever asked me about any other drugs (at that time the answer was no anyway). He didn't even ask if I had ever drank underage. The answer would have been yes. He told me the weed was fine, wouldn't need a waiver because it had been years prior and never recreational. All he said was that I'd need to take the gauges out of my ears and I'd be good to go to MEPS.

He then proceeded to call me daily asking if I was ready to go to MEPS, pressured me to go in to the Nuclear program even though I told him I was interested in crypto-linguistics (at the time I wanted to join the FBI afterwards, pretty sure I've shot myself in the foot of that ever happening now because I sucked at life temporarily a little over a year ago.)

So, I stopped talking to him and then fell in to a super crap part of my life. I won't go in to details but I hit a very rough patch and fell apart for a bit. I got myself back on my feet, but I had messed around with cocaine in that time. Not a heavy user, once every couple months maybe in a party setting. Yes, I know. I made poor choices in areas of my life not limited to friends. It doesn't make it okay, it doesn't excuse it, and it's my fault. I'm definitely not proud of it and would take it back in a heartbeat if I could. I screwed myself over and am now dealing with the consequences.

I guess what I'm asking is, is it even worth bothering to try joining now or should I wait and try when the chances are greater?