Special Tribute Paid To Women Lost In Wars

Team Infidel

Forum Spin Doctor
Washington Post
November 12, 2008
Pg. B2

Veterans Young and Old Gather at Wall
By Pamela Constable, Washington Post Staff Writer
It was just a few quiet words, coming after an hour of ringing speeches, songs and other public tributes to U.S. war veterans -- especially women -- at the annual Veterans Day ceremony yesterday in front of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.
But when Barbara Lilly, 62, a former American Red Cross worker in Vietnam, hugged Army Sgt. Danielle Modglin, 26, who was standing on crutches from an injury she had received this summer in Iraq, her brief greeting seemed especially eloquent.
"I'm a Vietnam vet. Thank you for your service, and welcome home," said Lilly, who had traveled from Denver. Modglin, who is from Pennsylvania, blushed and fought back tears. "I'm just so honored to be here," the young soldier said.
Both women were among several thousand people who gathered at the Wall to pay homage to the country's veterans, both living and dead, from historic wars to present-day conflicts.
"All those who have served, from Lexington Green to Normandy beach to Afghanistan, deserve credit for standing up to those who would harm our citizens and our way of life," said Jan C. Scruggs, president of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund.
The dominant theme of the event, however, was the once-overlooked role of women, both military and civilian, who gave their lives in U.S. wars. Yesterday was the 15th anniversary of the Vietnam Women's Memorial, a bronze tableau of three women treating a wounded soldier, just up a grassy slope from the Wall.