Something I'm Working On

deerslayer

Milforum Swamp Dweller
Well, I've always loved writing and the military, and as a result my work has usually leaned towards soldier life and such. As a musician, I was always told by my band director to "make good sounds", and have an appreciation for music, so this piece blends the two together.

Bitter Notes

A Civilian’s Look At Coping With War

“War is a profession by which a man cannot live honorably; an employment by which the soldier, if he would reap any profit, is obliged to be false, rapacious, and cruel.” Niccolo Machiavelli

It was, Adam decided, shaping into one of those performances which seemed to be becoming rarer and rarer as time passed by. He had seen some of the best in the business- Paul Butterfield, B.B. King, on one occasion had met R.L. Burnside- headliners did not necessarily mean good bluesmen. Bluesmen- he knew them well. He was one himself, styled between the modern electric blues of the Three Kings and the traditional 12-bar strums of Blind Willie McTell. Fair, not great. He knew just enough to get in trouble, and this fact seemed to dominate all other aspects of his existence besides music. Adam consistently defined himself by that one common denominator that makes each of us distinctly human: failure.

Through the refraction of the bottle of Stolichnaya he caught his first real look at the five-piece on the barroom stage. The show wasn’t bad for a bar; in fair-quality suits the band appeared professional, polished. The pieces were polished as well: the staple “Stormy Monday” lacked no luster, full to the brim with vibrato from the guitar and a soft backing by the drum set. Adam was reasonably sure that the Stoli had nothing to do with the fact that the band was sounding, all things considered, not all that bad. Then again, he’d only been here twenty minutes. As the guitarist hit the opening notes of “Texas Flood”, he was expecting good things.