Service with 21 SAS

AussieNick

Forum Digger
Hi,
It's been a while since I've posted on here, and a lot of people on here already know me but I'll give the background again.

I'm an Australian Army Infantry Officer, I'm a Captain currently on an instructional posting. My fiancé and I are considering moving to the UK next year after I complete my upcoming deployment.

I would like to take the opportunity to serve with the British Army, and I am considering the TA as an option.

I would like to attempt selection for 21 SAS so I can still have some sort of life in the UK...... for a while anyway, but I have some questions.

1. I am not a dual citizen, but I do hold an ancestry visa. Can I still serve as an officer as I hold a Commission from the Governor General of Australia on behalf of the Queen.

2. Will the British Army allow me to retain rank and seniority, or will I be required to reduce rank on lateral transfer.

3. Do you need to join another British regiment first before attempting selection if you are a lateral transfer from a Commonwealth country.

4. Will the British Army allow me to remain on the inactive list for the Australian Army while I serve in the UK?

5. What are the deployment opportunities/rotation lengths for 21/23 SAS?

6. After serving in the UKSF (R) what is the process to transfer to 22 SAS?

I'm asking the questions seriously, and I'm not looking for vague advice about SF selection. I know all about that, and have been preparing to attempt Australian SASR selection for the past year. My life changes may result in me moving to the UK, so I'd simply like to readjust my focus to the UKSF.

Another question.

UK recruiting info states that you must reside in the UK for 5 years prior to application. Can this be waived for personnel from another Commonwealth Army? I know we do this for Brits coming over here.

42 RM should be able to answer your questions.
Atleast with regards to twentytwo,s cousins.

You may want to concider popping him a PM.