Robitaille's No. 20 retired by Kings

Team Infidel

Forum Spin Doctor

Associated Press

LOS ANGELES - Luc Robitaille became the fifth player to have his number retired by the Los Angeles Kings, when his No. 20 jersey was raised to the rafters during a ceremony preceding Saturday night's game against the Phoenix Coyotes.
Robitaille, who had three stints covering 14 seasons with the Kings, was honored a year and a day after he set the franchise record for goals with a hat trick against the Atlanta Thrashers at Staples Center. The eight-time All-Star scored 557 goals with the Kings, seven more than Marcel Dionne did.
"It wasn't about scoring goals, it wasn't about money, it wasn't about fame. I just wanted to play hockey and play in the NHL," said Robitaille, who got his nickname "Lucky" from former Kings teammate Dave "Tiger" Williams.
"I wasn't the fastest player and I had flaws, but I was a student of the game and every day I was grateful to live my dream. I heard your chants every time I touched the puck or took a shot."
Rogie Vachon (30), Dionne (16), Dave Taylor (18) and Coyotes coach Wayne Gretzky (99) are the other Kings to have their numbers retired.
The rookie of the year in 1987, Robitaille retired at the end of last season, his 19th, as the NHL's leading career scorer among left wings.
He had 1,154 total points in 1,077 regular-season games with the Kings and is still a vital member of the organization, having been named as alternate governor for the club on Nov. 13.
The other 10 players who wore No. 20 with the Kings were Bob Pulford, Ray Ferraro, Mark Hardy, Brad Selwood, Gordon Labossiere, Ron Anderson, Scott Garland, Don Howse, Larry Playfair and Steve Larouche. They combined to score 174 goals for the franchise - 383 fewer than Robitaille did.