Reenlistment (Not RE-4!)

greg

Heya everyone. I've got a question about reenlistment. Back in 2001, I joined the Air Force straight out of high school a much less mature individual than I am now. I studied Arabic at DLI and to make a long story short, I was separated with a General (Under Honorable Conditions) discharge for smoking marijuana. I was asked if I would be willing to take a test when they were doing the investigation and I complied. I had made a mistake and I'm not one to lie about it or try and run away from problems I've created for myself.

Now I don't expect anyone's sympathy or anyone to tell me "oh, it's OK" because really, it's not. A long time has passed however, and I am a much more mature individual now. I haven't used any drugs (I really don't like any high...I didn't then and I hate it even more now) and I RARELY even drink. I've requested my records as I've lost them from so many moves over the years...I don't know my reenlistment code. I DO know it's not RE-4 though. I THINK it might be a 2B but again, I'm not entirely sure. Here's what I do know: As I mentioned before, the discharge was General (Under Honorable Conditions) and my UIF (Unfavorable Information File) was destroyed.

I want to enlist in the Navy and become a SEAL more than anything I've ever wanted in my life and so far, things aren't looking good. My questions are as follows:

• Has anyone been, or known anyone who has been, discharged under similar circumstances receiving the same discharge? Do you know what their RE code was?
  • If my RE code does prevent me from enlisting, is there any way to get a waiver or get the code upgraded so that I can join?
  • Is there any faster way to retrieve my reenlistment code (aside from waiting on these records) such as an online database?