Redneck

Redneck

Howdy, I am a 22 year old Army ROTC MSIV Cadet commissioning June2005 as a Butter Bar on an Active Duty contract (hopefully in Armor or Infantry, unfortunately my career is a bit out of my hands as far as that goes :lol: ). Not that it means much at this point, but I am the S4 (Battalion Supply Officer) here and teach classes on combat first aid, marksmanship, weapons maintanence, land navigation, and whatever else nobody else is dumb enough to get suckered into doing :lol: . I am currently studying History and Biology at the University of California Santa Barbara. If you're wondering about the name, I'm a bona fide hick, grew up on a working cattle ranch and still have all kinds of redneck fun in my free time, including being a DAV wildland firefighter.

You seem to be a bit late, but... meh. Welcome, I guess. Heh.

I had a lot of problems with Land Nav... but I passed it, so I guess I could manage... Oh, and which particular field do you really want to be in more, armor or infantry? (Although, I suppose ya could take the best of both worlds and be a Cav Scout... or is that considered armor? I was never sure of that...)

lol :lol: Because it's easier for him to post one thing then to keep posting if people ask him a little bit about his background ;) oh and he's a MOD :shock:

Nero said:
Cav Scout

:lol: Actually my plan is after spending a year in an ACR to become a 19C (Armored Cav Scout Leader). The way it works in ROTC-land is we rank all of the possible branches in order of how much we want them (our contracts have that wonderful phrase "for the good of the service" in them :lol: ), and based on the needs of the Army and our OML (Order of Merit List) ranking, we are assigned a branch. My first choice is Armor (19 series), second is Infantry (11 series) and third is Military Police (95 series). We are only allowed two CA branches in our top three choices.