Question for any Israeli's

usinfantryMOS11c10

My question is regarding service in the IDF.

I am Jewish, 26 years old, and I have served in the US Army as a mortarman.
I plan on leaving for France in a couple of months, to serve an enlistment in the Foreign Legion, in order to save money up for when I immigrate to Israel.

Here is the problem though.

Upon my arrival into Israel I will be 31 or 32ish. I've looked all over the immigration website, and on the IDF website and I cant find anything regarding military service as a career. The only things I can find are things like Mahal, which is for volunteers and it says the age limit is 24.

Can anyone perhaps tell me if when I do immigrate to Israel and get my citizenship, if there is an age restriction on soldiers who wish to serve as a career?

I don't really know what else I would do for a living there, other than the IDF or security. I will have money saved up so I won't need to find employment right away I would guess. However, I would like the added comfort of knowing that I could be employed as a service member, before I go and get my citizenship.

thats a damn good question...same one i have. im 24, and have 1.5 years in the us coast guard. 2.5 left in my active and 4 in reserve... so i figure ill be around 30 when i get there(unless of course i can nullify my reserve years somehow) im not against joining security forces, but would prefer joining the idf in some fashion.

Reply for your question

My question is regarding service in the IDF.

I am Jewish, 26 years old, and I have served in the US Army as a mortarman.
I plan on leaving for France in a couple of months, to serve an enlistment in the Foreign Legion, in order to save money up for when I immigrate to Israel.

Here is the problem though.