Piniella glad to be back in NL

Team Infidel

Forum Spin Doctor
http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/content/printer_friendly/mlb/y2006/m10/d17/c1716084.jsp

CHICAGO -- Lou Piniella is happy to be back in the National League and said he hopes the Cubs can regain their home-field advantage.

Piniella has managed primarily in the American League with the New York Yankees (1986-88), the Seattle Mariners (1993-2002) and Tampa Bay Devil Rays (2003-05). He did spend three seasons in Cincinnati, and won the 1990 World Series with the Reds.
"I like the National League," Piniella said Tuesday during his introductory news conference as the new Cubs manager. "I'm an aggressive manager. I like to force the issue a lot. I think managing in the National League, you have a little more say in the managing of the ballgame than you do in the American League.
"I like clubs that can execute, I like clubs that are aggressive," he said. "I don't like to sit and wait for the three-run homer. If you look at the teams I managed in Seattle and even Tampa Bay, we always were up there doing the things we needed to do to win ballgames."
The Cubs have struggled at home the past two seasons, posting records of 36-45 (2006) and 38-43. This year, they were out-homered at Wrigley Field, 125-81. Does Wrigley present a challenge?
"What you need here is consistency," Piniella said. "You need pitchers who can command the strike zone, you need defensive players who can catch the ball, and you would think in a ballpark like this that you need a lot of power, but you what you need is athleticism. You catch more baseballs. Singles stay singles, doubles stay doubles.
"When the conditions are right, anybody can hit a home run," Piniella said. "When the conditions aren't right, Babe Ruth can't hit a home run."
The elements do play a factor. When the wind was blowing in at Wrigley Field, the Cubs and opponents combined to hit 76 home runs, and when it was blowing out, they slugged 101.