Phillips interviews for Cowboys job

Team Infidel

Forum Spin Doctor
Associated Press

IRVING, Texas - San Diego defensive coordinator Wade Phillips interviewed Friday with the Dallas Cowboys about replacing retired head coach Bill Parcells.
Phillips, the former head coach at Denver and Buffalo who also had interim stints in New Orleans and Atlanta, said he had a "very encompassing talk" with Cowboys owner and general manager Jerry Jones. Phillips has a 48-39 coaching record.
"I'm going to go on my record," Phillips said. "I've won as a head coach, been in the playoffs three out of the five years I've been a head coach. ... I have a lot of experience; I've been 30 years in the league, 25 as either a head coach or coordinator."
Jones also plans to talk to San Francisco offensive coordinator Norv Turner, a former head coach for Washington and Oakland, and New Orleans defensive coordinator Gary Gibbs. Both are former Dallas assistants.
Gibbs was scheduled to interview Saturday. Turner is coaching at the Senior Bowl on Saturday, and is expected to interview Sunday.
While Phillips didn't get a timetable from Jones about when a decision would be made, Phillips doesn't expect it to be a long time.
"I don't think it will be a long drawn out process," Phillips said. "That's what I've been told."
Phillips has been with the Chargers for three seasons. He was 16-17 with one playoff loss as head coach in Denver (1993-94), and 29-21 with two playoff losses in Buffalo (1998-2000).
On Thursday, the Cowboys added Jason Garrett to their coaching staff in an unspecified role, but said he would remain a candidate for the head coaching job.
The team said Garrett's responsibilities and title wouldn't be determined until Parcells' replacement was hired, but he's expected to be offensive coordinator if he's not head coach.