Open Pit Burning

yobow1

[FONT=&quot]Hello everyone. I just joined today and would like to ask a question, but a little background first. I came across an article on Yahoo news about “open pit burning” on military bases in Iraq. As a contractor I was at Camp Bondsteel/Kosovo in 2002 for 5 months. In the first month, I got sick with some sort of respiratory illness; they called it the “Kosovo crud”. I had a fever and coughed uncontrollably. I was miserable for a week and missed many workdays. I eventually came out of it and continued my work there. After the tour there, I returned to my home in San Diego where over the next few years I would develop bouts of uncontrollable coughing; I also ran a mild fever. I would cough so much and so forcefully that I would get cramps and feel like I was choking or unable to breath. This occurred at least once a year. Once, when I was in London attending a class on project management, I again developed a respiratory condition. This went on for most of the week. I finally was able to see my respiratory doctor only to be told I had pleurisy (pneumonia). I accepted a job in Germany. Over the past few years there, I have had more bouts with respiratory conditions. I believe that open pit burning caused my condition. I remember smoke coming from the open pit and the smell of burned plastic and chemicals. Sometimes were worse than others. I’d like to find out if anyone else, working or stationed at Camp Bondsteel, has respiratory problems? If this can happen in Iraq, it can happen elsewhere. Thanks for reading this and I hope to hear from some of you.[/FONT]