not really hazing more like pestering...

implicature

I am a new marine on Meridian NAS in MS. there is a JROTC here that does pt and some different things on base. a lot of the Sailors that are fresh in the Navy like to pick on the JROTC kids when there is no one around. Don't get me wrong there are some Marines (sad but true!) that do it to. well one of the Seaman was harassing a Cadet (is that the proper term for the JROTC? i honestly don't know) and the Cadet said something back to him. I watched all this take place and the Seaman started yelling at the JROTC kid and all hell was about to break loose. so i ran and got between the two of them so neither of them could get their butt kicked. my question is do the JROTC or ROTC get a lot of Flak from the privates and and E-1 while on base or is it just around here in MS where there is nothing else to do?

And i here the JROTC here say OOH-Rah a lot. i know that there are retired USMC working with them and i am new to the CORPS but if they are navy why are they using USMC cadences and sayings. I am not saying they shouldn't but after taking up for the Cadet(?) every time i walk past they give me an OOH-RAH which i think is cool by the way.

And these JROTC'ers are going to be officers or is that only in ROTC?

thanks for the help ya'll!

JROTC's goal is to build better citizens.

ROTC's goal is to produce officers for the United States military.

While JROTC is a program with no military commitment and for most people something they just do in highschool, ROTC is actually an officer training program.

And if someone has to pick on some JROTC boys to feel big, well that's just sad.