"No One Left Behind"

Rev. Dan

Good Afternoon to all! What an honor to post on forum that is decorated with some many heroes that have served so faithfully!

I am a pastor doing a sermon on warfare and am needing some help. I am looking ofr the history of the concept of "No One Left Behind". We all see this concept on movies such as We Were SOldiers and Black Hawk Down.

IF anyone has any help on this, tht would be great!

Again thank you to al who have so greatly served and honored our country by giving their all!

May God Conintu to Bless and Up Hold your HonoR!

Dan Lewiston

Good Day Rev,

I think know the concept goes back to the Ranger Creed, written in 1974 by Commadn Sergent Major Genrty, but it probobly goes back farther. Heres the Ranger Creed, Hope I could be of Help!

Recognizing that I volunteered as a Ranger, fully knowing the hazards of my chosen profession. I will always endeavor to uphold the prestige, honor and high "esprit de corps" of my Ranger Regiment.

Acknowledging the fact that a Ranger is a more elite soldier who arrives at the cutting edge of battle by land, sea, or air. I accept the fact that as a Ranger my country expects me to move further, faster and fight harder than any other soldier.

Never shall I fail my comrades. I will always keep myself mentally alert, physically strong and morally straight and I will shoulder more than my share of the task whatever it may be. One hundred percent and then some

Gallantly will I show the world that I am a specially selected and well trained soldier. My courtesy to superior officers, neatness of dress and care of equipment shall set the example for others to follow.

Energetically will I meet the enemies of my country. I shall defeat them on the field of battle for I am better trained and will fight with all my might. Surrender is not a Ranger word. I will never leave a fallen comrade to fall into the hands of the enemy and under no circumstances will I ever embarrass my country.