Modern combat and PTSD?

mcteague

Greetings to all. First post here. I feel that I should state that I have no experience in the military. Also although there are some things about which I know more than most people, military history is not one of them. So please pardon any silly questions or comments.

My question is whether PTSD is a particular effect of “modern” warfare? Is the increase in PTSD not simply better reporting, but actually is the result of how combat has occurred in the last 100 years or so as opposed to before that.

A few months ago I was listening to this guy on TV from the Vietnam era talk about PTSD. He said that combat requires an actual change in brain chemistry. He said when you're in a combat zone if you hear a sound in the bushes you turn immediately and fire. He said it is a survival mechanism. Behaving that way increases your chance of staying alive. There is no, or very little, “higher thinking”. Some people have a hard time turning off or down this fight or flight response.
There is probably a lot more to PTSD. But I am just going to go with what this guy said for the time being.

I was listening to some female solders, also on TV, arguing that prohibitions against women in combat really did not make any sense anymore. They said there really is no back of the line. If you are in a combat zone: you are in a combat zone. I was thinking about the way we envision combat occurring in earlier days. Two sides line up on opposite sides of a big field and have at each other. Think “Braveheart” They were bloody, they were horrible, but they pretty much happened and ended.
Things like the 100 years war were not really 100 years of combat. Years even decades went by with nothing happening. And those Homeric 10 year struggles really were not either.