Metal Storm

I've been keeping up with their published ideas for a couple years. I'm curious to see if some of these ideas will shape themselves into actual battlefield weapons.

250,000 rounds a minute is pretty darned impressive, but how difficult is it to keep that volume of fire up? How practical is it to reload the weapon? If the rounds stack in the barrel (a la the demoed pistol), does that degrade accuracy in the first rounds fired by effectively shortening the barrel?

moving0target said:
I've been keeping up with their published ideas for a couple years. I'm curious to see if some of these ideas will shape themselves into actual battlefield weapons.

250,000 rounds a minute is pretty darned impressive, but how difficult is it to keep that volume of fire up? How practical is it to reload the weapon? If the rounds stack in the barrel (a la the demoed pistol), does that degrade accuracy in the first rounds fired by effectively shortening the barrel?

Metal Storm claims that the legnth of the barrel will have no effect on the accuracy of the weapon.

• Barrel wear may have been a significant issue with the original shell/barrel jamming design.
  • The high pressure generated in the barrel was apparently a concern with 50mm+ calibres. Metal Storm patented a method of 'barrel pressure relief' but the current state of development of high pressure, high speed (Mach 5) applications of the technology is unclear.
  • While the simplified mechanics and relative light weight of a metal storm gun barrels suggested that they might have advantages when deployed on light unmanned aerial vehicles, recoil management becomes a significant issue relative to the light weight of the vehicle and consequently to flight stability. Metal Storm have suggested that this may require a partly avionic (flight control) solution.
Some issues arise from the fundamental aspects of the technology: