Marine Corp Officer Candidate School

thegrinch073

This fall I am going to be starting college at Norwich University and will be in the Marine Corp rotc program. I was wondering upon graduating from college, what should I expect in OCS. I'm sure I'll be told during college but I would like some details now. Also, if anybody could help me in giving me some pointers on gaining respect from the Marines I will be leading when I first go active (the sergants will have much more years and experience than me). I will take any advice. :rambo:

I can't comment on Marine Corps OCS, as I graduated from Army OCS. However, as far as gaining respect from subordinates, always remember that it is the rank that demands respect. The individual _earns_ respect. Listen to your senior sergeants, take care of your Marines, accomplish your missions and you can't go wrong.

Firstly, you need to learn to capitalise the "M" in Marines.

Secondly, the Marine Corps is interested in self starters not those that expect things to be handed to them. Do a search on this site, search the internet - then come back and ask any questions you may have. As it stands now, all of what you ask can be found very easily on this site, or through a quick google search.

Good points RndrSafe. It would've helped if he hadn't spelled "Marine" wrong in the topic either. Maybe you can help him out there?

Here's something I found that he may find helpful:

This is a condensed version of an article that originally appeared in the Field Artillery Journal, May-June 1984, based on Major General James E. Drummond's remarks at an FA Officer's Basic Course (FAOBC) graduation. At the time, General Drummond was the Commander of the Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC) Combined Arms Test Activity (now known as Operational Test Command), Fort Hood, Texas. During his career, he also commanded III Corps Artillery, Fort Sill, Oklahoma. He presented his four rules for lieutenants during his FAOBC speech.