Learning Artillery language

Trevinboy

Greeting to the military community and thank you for your contributions and sacrifices, they do not go unnoticed ;)

Anyway, I respectfully would like to inquire about Artillery coordinates and language. I am a writer and am currently writing a book on the Iran Iraq war of the 80s. Because I do not know how commanders and field artillery personnel talk to each other, I would like to see if I could get help. I am writing about a platoon that is about to be overrun by advancing enemy mechanized cavalry units, but the platoon commander is ordering that his artillery which is 2 kilometers behind the platoon, fire on the advancing cavalry units. I need to know what would the commander radio in to the artillery units. Would it be, "we need fire on this coordinates?" or what. Can someone simulate a situation just so that I can have an idea and perhaps copy the idea onto my manuscript? Thank you guys in advance and good work!

I'm pretty rusty but ill give you the basics.

Observer: "Hey you[callsign], this is me[call sign]."
Battery: "this is me[call sign], send your traffic."
Observer:"this is me, reqesting fire mission"

You will have preferably a 12 digit coord at least. You will also have pre determined "known distance" grids already set up. Intersections are pretty solid for this. You need to indentify what kind of targets are present so the gun bunnies know which shells to lob. Different ammo for different targets.

Once the round is sent battery will call out "splash over", the observer on the ground will call out "splash out" when he sees the impact. This lets the battery know you have eyes on where the target hit. Then you start dropping or raising by a set amount of increments. Im trying not to be too detailed here obviously. Once the round hit where you want it the observer would call up for a "fire for effect". An entire Battery will unload on that command.