Jim Wallwork: WWII Glider Pilot

Trevor

Today I had the privilage of talking to Jim Wallwork, a man who lives in my grandma's friend's building and is a WWII glider pilot. Since I am a glider pilot myself, I was very interested in meeting him. This guy flew the giant WACO gliders into Normandy on D-Day. His claim to fame was that he, and the troops in his glider were the very first souls to hit Normandy for the invasion. The glider he flew was so large it could carry a light tank, artillary or up to 15 troops. His landing--mere feet from the bridge they had to capture, was unofficially declared the greatest flying feat of the war.

This is his story:

We had just hit the coast of France, and the tug pilot said, "Weather's good, the clouds are at 600 feet, a couple of minutes before we cast off. And we all wish you the best of luck." Alter course, air speed right, John Ainsworth with the stopwatch, I'm checking the compass, he's checking the air speed. We cruise along and then 5 . . . 4 . . . 3 . . . 2 . . . 1 . . . bingo, right turn to starboard onto course. Halfway down the crosswind leg, I could see it. I could see the river and the canallike strips of silver and I could see the bridges; visibility was awfully good. So then, to hell with the course. I knew my height; I knew how far away I was, so it was a case of by guess and by God from then on. I didn't complete the crosswind leg, so I bowled down and landed rather quickly.