IDF

SGT G

I am an Artilleryman. I have become very adept to shooting counter fire missions. I have been to Iraq twice. This is my first time in Afghanistan. I am on a tiny Combat Outpost call Zerok. I have been here for 8 months now. In one day we have taken more IDF than both of my tours in Iraq combined. It has been very accurate. We have lost several people here due to it. As a Redleg, I am used to running out into the middle of it to shoot counter fires. I'm not going to lie, loud noises and whistles freak me out a bit. I am just wondering if there is anything in particular I need to do when I get back home to try and keep from freaking my family out?

Why is it that every ones that that shoots a gun in anger expects to PTSD. SGT G it is not that you have clear up the mess from your counter fire mission, lets face it you are a 12 mile sniper and you do is hear the gun go bang.

No, I don't mean PTSD, I mean hittin' the floor when something heavy gets dropped. Its just a natural reaction, just don't want the wife to be all wierded out.