Heavy Cavalry Charge

Zajoman

Hello, fellow soldiers and generals.

I'm a hobbyist student of ancient military history and I have some questions regarding heavy cavalry and their real use on the battlefield against infantry.

1. How did a typical regiment of heavy cavalry attack? How did they inflict the physical blow to infantry units? Did they use lances alone? Or lances for the blow and swords when in close combat?
2. What did infantrymen fear more - the lances or the heavy horses themselves?
3. Did horses charge at the bodies of infantrymen directly or did cavalrymen always had to use their weapons?
4. Were horses naturally afraid of pikes or were it riders who knew the probable result of such a charge.
5. I understand that standing on a field with 200 heavily armoured horses running at you, it takes great courage to stand and fight. Was fear the main factor in cavalry versus infantry warfare or was it rather real strength?

Thanks in advance for answers.

I doubt if anyone is old enough to remember one. I think horses refuse to impale themselves on the stakes (not surprisingly) or even dense seated unarmed crowds (rembember that scene from the film Gandhi?). Presumably instinct prevents them from galloping over 'rough ground' which is what a seated bunch of people would be seen as.

Historians such as John Keegan have shown that when correctly prepared against (such as by improvising fortifications) and, especially, by standing firm in face of the onslaught, cavalry charges often failed against infantry, with horses refusing to gallop into the dense mass of enemies[1], or the charging unit itself breaking up. However, when cavalry charges succeeded, it was usually due to the defending formation breaking up (often in fear) and scattering, to be hunted down by the enemy.[2]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charge_(warfare)

Last edited: