Do i have a chance?

ozmilman

Okay,

I'm looking at going into the Aussie army and i wanted to see if i could get some advice on whether or not i have a good chance of getting in.

I'm getting my fitness back up to a really good standard, i've got 18 years martial arts experience, i've used firearms before, i'm fairly decent at the huntsman's trade, i have a University degree with a double major (English and History), and i have dreamed of being in the army my entire life - it's the discipline.

BUT, I have poor eyesight without glasses. I can't see distances without my glasses and i was wondering whether that would keep me out of the army. Surely all of my positives would outweight the one negative, wouldn't it?

Rich.

i have a University degree with a double major (English and History)

That is much more important than any of the other things. With that you can become an officer through Duntroon. As for eyesight, if you wear glasses then you should be fine. I wear glasses, but I'm saving for laser surgery.

The only thing it'll actually stop you from doing is being a pilot.

So yeah you should be fine as long as you've got an education, are medically fit, and haven't got any terrible criminal convictions hidden up your sleeve.

Heh, well i did get caught pinching this packet of condoms once, but they let me off for that.

Thanks man, that makes me feel heaps better - i'll just get one of those things that straps the glasses tight to your head so they don't fall off all the damn time.

Do you mind me asking what you do in the army? Or aren't you allowed to say or something?

Rich.

Sweet. I'm not sure if i'd go for officer training. I just want to go in as a Rifleman or Combat engineer. Maybe go in for trade training. Heh, maybe try out for commandos, i don't think i'd ever be fit enough.

Rich.

I'm not sure if i'd go for officer training. I just want to go in as a Rifleman or Combat engineer