German Stormtroopers World War One

Bory

Dose anyone have any information on the German Stormtroopers in World War One. We have been learning about Operation St Michael in Modern History at School and I am interested in learning more about the Stormtroopers. I can't find too much info at school or on Google.

All I know "outside of google searching" is general information. They where excellent infiltration troops and, historically, are the German "line-breaking" equiviliant to the Allied Tanks. Their tactics where to infiltrate a portion of the line and then surprise the allies by attacking it sideways, down the length of the line.

If my memory serves me correct (I'm not an expert on WW1) the Stormtroopers faced similar strategic problems as the Allied Tank assaults; namely that when they scored a victory, it was not followed-up upon quick enough as modern armies would 'exploit' such a breach.

yeah thats about all I can find on them. I don't know why there isn't allot of info on them out there

german ST were a well trained fighting unit thats main task was to break the lines and create an opening for the regular infantry to advance on. ST were basicly paratroopers without parachutes because they would get behind enemy lines and seize bridges, towns, roads, etc. They were masters in hand to hand combat using grenades, pistols, riles, MG 08/15 light machine gun, and even shoves and knifes to silent ly kill their enemies at night. one of the most famous weapons used by the ST was the flamethrower.

hope this helped a little.