Doin' the Long Distance Thing......advice anyone?

Have you ever been involved in a long distance relationship?

• Yes, but it didn't work out

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

CanadianCowgirl

Well, I'm a newbie to the world of long distance relationships, and I have to say, so far it's been tough. I was wondering if any of you would be able to give some advice or even share some stories.....

My thoughts are, if you love each other enough, you should be able to make it through anything, but maybe that's just me being a hopeless romantic :oops:

Time and distance are enemies of fond memories, just as it is for bad ones. People naturally drift apart when separated for long periods of time. There are a lot of people who never remarry after losing a spouse, especially after a long marriage, but I think that's different.

Nice to see all ya'll!

i don't think that distance is the enemy it is the mindset that the individuals have that detirmines the outcome of the relationship. but no matter what happens in the relationship if it is bad you can always use the distance as the scapegoat!!! :lol:

i dont think its possible to have a good relationship without physical contact. i dont mean sex, but it has to be there. without that, whats the difference between that person and a friend? you have all read those posts listing all the cute and mooshy stuff couples do. as cheesy as it may seem, its true. you do need to hold hands, you do need to tickle her, you do need to hug, to kiss. that just the way it is.

take of that what you will. just my 2 cents.

I was in a long-distance relationship for the last six months of my active duty enlistment. 16 years later I'm in my 15th year of marriage with that lady. To be honest, I've felt farther away from my wife the last couple of years than I did during that 6 month period. Our secret was to be overly communicative, at least one card every week (that was before email), and a phone call every week or so.