Dodgers' Maddux wins 16th Gold Glove

November 4th, 2006  
Team Infidel

Topic: Dodgers' Maddux wins 16th Gold Glove


Associated Press

NEW YORK - Greg Maddux has become a constant in an era of change. The slick-fielding pitcher won his 16th Gold Glove on Friday, tying the record shared by pitcher Jim Kaat and third baseman Brooks Robinson.
"I'm honored," Maddux said in a statement. "I take great pride in my fielding. This award means a lot to me."
Traded from the Chicago Cubs to the Los Angeles Dodgers on July 31, Maddux has won the NL pitching award each year since 1990 except for 2003, when Atlanta's Mike Hampton interrupted the streak.
Maddux was 15-14 with a 4.20 ERA this year, including 6-3 with a 3.30 ERA for the Dodgers. The eight-time All-Star and four-time NL Cy Young Award winner has 333 career wins.
Kaat won AL Gold Gloves for pitchers from 1962-75, then won the NL award the following two years. Robinson was honored as the AL's best fielder at third base from 1960-75.
Rawlings has presented Gold Gloves annually since 1957 based on voting by managers and coaches before the end of the regular season. They may not select players on their own teams, and they vote only for players in their own league.
San Francisco shortstop Omar Vizquel won his 11th Gold Glove, his second in a row in the NL after the nine straight he earned with the Cleveland Indians from 1993-01. He is two shy of the record for shortstops, held by Ozzie Smith, and he extended his own mark as the oldest shortstop to win the honor.
"I never thought at the age of 39 I would be getting Gold Gloves," Vizquel said. "It's really weird I'm still playing at the top of my game, but my experiences and my condition has put me at the place where I am right now - and the desire and the passion.
"I felt I had a Gold Glove kind of year. I made three errors until the last weeks of the season. It is amazing I can keep that kind of concentration. As the years go by, you learn how to put that level of concentration into play. You have to be anticipating."
Atlanta center fielder Andruw Jones won his ninth consecutive Gold Glove. Among outfielders, he trails only Roberto Clemente and Willie Mays (12 each) and Al Kaline and Ken Griffey Jr. (10 apiece).
St. Louis third baseman Scott Rolen won his seventh Gold Glove, his first since 2004. Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols won for the first time, as did New York Mets center fielder Carlos Beltran.
Houston catcher Brad Ausmus won his third award, his first since 2002. San Diego center fielder Mike Cameron won for the third time - he earned Gold Gloves in the AL with Seattle in 2001 and 2003.
Second baseman Orlando Hudson won with Arizona after gaining the honor for the first time with Toronto last year.
"People pay to see web gems, but they also want to see home runs," Hudson said. "It's an offensive game right now."
Beltran and Vizquel each earned $100,000 bonuses, while Cameron, Pujols and Rolen got $50,000 apiece. Ausmus gets a $25,000 bonus.

Similar Topics
Kenny Rogers wins 5th overall Gold Glove
Mets Make Easy Work of Dodgers in Game 2
Ian Thorpe wins another gold