DEA Basic Training

Devil505

As a retired DEA Agent I believe all US Gov. training is pretty similar in that it usually has nothing to do with real life!<G> I went through DEA Basic Agent training in 1974 when DEA was a brand new agency. Below is an example of training vs "Real Life":

DEA War Story # 346<G> (my family has heard these so often, I just refer them to the number & they don't have to listen to them again!)

Raid Planning & Execution

Copied from DEA's Homepage (DEA early Training History)

In the absence of the realistic Hogan's Alley, a life-sized, simulated neighborhood of today, training practicals were conducted on public streets. The DEA had leased a 20-acre farm near Dulles Airport in rural Virginia, as well as a house in Oxen Hill, Maryland, to practice raids and field exercises. Basic Agent training lasted 10 weeks, and the Training Institute supported three classes, with 53 students per class, in session at all times. Graduations occurred every three weeks. Coordinators were from the headquarters staff, and counselors were brought in from the field for temporary training duty. In addition to training basic agents, the DEA also offered training programs for compliance investigators, intelligence analysts, chemists, supervisors, mid-level managers, executives, technical personnel, state and local police officers, and international law enforcement personnel.