A day in the life of a London bus driver

BritinBritain

Per Ardua Ad Astra
Many years ago I was a London bus driver on the 73 Route between Stoke Newington and Hammersmith Broadway.

It was one of the best routes in London for commuters and tourists alike, there was always something going on, very busy and unlike many other routes it was never boring.

The route took in Kings Cross railway station, which was infamous for the ladies of the night displaying their wares often to shouts of “Wanna do some business darlin??” Down Tottenham Court Road, to Oxford Street, Park Lane, Hyde Park Corner, Albert Hall then finally Hamersmith Broadway.

On one particular day there were something like 3 buses missing in front of us, and 2 missing behind us, my conductor and I were getting a hammering. Bus crews often had to take the brunt of abuse from passengers because someone somewhere stuffed up, this day was no exception. Right from Hammersmith Broadway, there were long queue's far beyond the capability of the Routemaster bus, 69 seated. We loaded up at the first bus stop, to a lot of verbal abuse of “Bloody buses always the same.”

Struggling we managed to get to Hyde Park Corner something like ¾ hour late, an inspector came up and started shouting abuse at me and my conductor. I climbed out the cab when the inspector accused me and my conductor of running late on purpose, despite the fact we had given up our meal break at Hammersmith to get back to work the road as soon as possible.