Combat vest and body armor development.

gladius

Those any one know what is the state armor development right for personal indiviual use?

Is there any vest or body armor right now that can stop a 7.62 round.

If so, it widely available? Or when will it be available?

Is there plans to develope full body armor, kinda like the storm troopers in Starwars?

Is such a thing feasable or will it be too heavy?

I'm wondering if any type of full body armor are planed to come into use any time soon.

I would be surprised if a 7.62mm round hitting the current US Interceptor body armor would penetrate, but I'm not an expert, sorry.

I've never seen it, but I've talked to a few follow Infantryman that said they were in fact hit with a 7.62mm in the chest with the Interceptor Body Armor and after they got knocked over at first, they got right back up and kept fighting.

How true it is, I'm not sure. But take it as you will.

Hmmmm....

Even if it can only stop one or two bullets before falling apart that at least increases your survivability by 100 to 200%. Getting knocked down is better than dying.

I'm wondering if they will come up with full body armor (like a Knight or Star Wars Stormtrooper) for this type of stuff, thats light enough of course.

gladius said:
Hmmmm....

Even if it can only stop one or two bullets before falling apart that at least increases your survivability by 100 to 200%. Getting knocked down is better than dying.

I'm wondering if they will come up with full body armor (like a Knight or Star Wars Stormtrooper) for this type of stuff, thats light enough of course.

It's in early development for a tentative 2020 incept date (of course by army parlance that REALLY means 2030-2040).