Combat experiences of soldiers

mae14

Hi out there! This goes out to anyone from WW1 through current day Iraq. I am an aspiring writer and am creating a book of short stories that will be based on the real combat experiences of soldiers in wars form WW1 or WW2 through Iraq. I am looking for any stories or experiences people would like to share. My email is listed and you may send me responses if you are interested. I would like you to include your name, rank, position, background,etc. But if you feel uncomfortable doing so, it's understandable, and your experience will simply be listed as anonymous. Your privacy will be respected if you wish it, and you will simply be listed as anonymous. No real names will be used unless you specifically request it. There is no guarantee that the book will be published or that your story will be used, though I am going to try and include as many as I can from WWW1 through current day Iraq. They don't necessarily have to be your stories, just any in general.

I want to write this book because my grandfather was a WW2 veteran (on the U.S. side) and I grew up listening to his stories as an American fighter pilot. I have been interested in war stories ever since. I think there are many people out there as well who are curious about the lives and experiences of soldiers. I ask for details because I wish to have no false information and to be as accurate as possible. Thank you so much in advance for your help!
Sincerely,
Aurora Brown Van Ausdall
mae14@hotmail.com

just curious but...

which side was your grandfather on? your last name sounds German but your flag icon says American.

I am American...

My last name is Dutch. It means "of the valley."And my grandfather was an American pilot. Why curious?

Re: I am American...

mae14 said:
My last name is Dutch. It means "of the valley."And my grandfather was an American pilot. Why curious?

i dunno why i asked really. it would have been kind of ironic i guess.