/bow

Nero

Hello all, my name is Bob. I found this site by looking for that Patton quote about making the other poor dumb bastard die for his country.

I was in the Army for a period of about four and a half months. I was training to be a tanker, so I had the OSUT training which was 15 weeks, however, I started training in June of 2002, so since 9/11 had happened, there were a lot of new recruits. There were actually too many, another company was opened, and a group of about 30 of us still couldn't be fit in anywhere, so we spent the first six weeks in a holding company. We had moved downrange, and another 8 weeks into training, on a morning run (particularly foggy that day) the drill seargants decided to run everyone especially hard, to weed out the fakers and move them to their proper groups. Well, I had what I found out later was an asthma attack. I thought it was just allergies, but when I went to sick call, they did some tests, and said I had asthma.

I was given the choice between tuffing it, or leaving. I took the out. Now, before any of y'alls think less of me, I had a very good reason to take the out. I signed all my intent to enlist papers in July of 2001, and I wanted to be combat. I wanted to help protect the country that gave me so much. When 9/11 came, a lot of people thought I would drop it, but I wanted to go even more. Now, in September of 2002, we all knew that Iraq was soon to come. So I took the out, because I know that I would've been there sometime, and if I had an attack or anything, even a moment's distraction, I could get my buddies killed. I wasn't willing to take that risk. And now, it's worked out anyway,a s there aren't anywhere near enough civilians supporting our troops.

So, sorry for the lengthy post, but I think it's best to put that kind of stuff out in the open. I really appreciate what all of you in uniform do for us, whichever branch you may be.

And... that's my intro. If any of y'alls have any questions, feel free to ask.