Bolt Action vs. Semi Auto

Whispering Death

Granted I am a novice with guns so I was wondering something. It is a bit of common sentiment that bolt action rifels are always more accurate than semi-automatic ones. So my question is why is this? Why is it that bolt action rifels are more accurate?

A bolt action is more accurate becasue all the gases are forced down the barrel forcing out the round, the bolt acts as a sort of plug and gases can't escape through the breech, opposed to the semi-auto where the gases can escape throught the magzine and breech meet and breech door. Now semi-auto. are almost as accurate as bolt-action

Pictures:

Bolt action M1903 Springfield

M03.jpg

M14/M1A Semi-Auto rifle

M1a.jpg

while bolt action rifles do shoot straighter, its not by much. besides, they arent used a sniper rifles so it really doesnt matter. a three inch hole in someones body will do the job no matter where it is.

Semi auto will win hands down in close combat. In long range combat, well the bolt action rifle getsmy vote.

Isn't accuracy depended on a lot more functions than the action? I highly doubt that a regular bolt action rifle from 50 years ago could compete with the semi-auto PSG-1 or the M-25 in accuracy. Plus there are custom manufacturers of semi-auto precision rifles that are on par with any bolt action rifle out there. An example of such is Blake's Custom Rifles outside of Las Vegas and the more famous Les Baer. Of course, a poorly made semi-auto weapon can damage ammo while cycling not enough to be disasterous but enough to effect accuracy. But the majority of accuracy issues are solved by having higher standards for production.

Of course you are correct Vitaly.

I was just wondering how it is that the most accurate modern rifels still seem to rely on some of the older rifel bolt action.