apache vs rooivalk

tommy_gunn

The apache is built by the US and the Rooivalk is build by south Africa
Both look exactly the same, BUT the Apache cannot make a 360 loop where the Rooivalk can do it, Question who makes the best 1 USA or South Africa

Rooivalk is a very good, cost-effective chopper. Turkey was considering it for its 100-gunship ATAK program (AgustaWestland's A129 won it). But when compared, Apache is simply more advanced. Network centric, employs a kick-butt MMW mast radar, highly modifiable, truly network-centric and battle tested and proven to work time and again.

Rooivalk will easily take on anything South Korea's neighbors may throw its way, but I doubt it'll perform as good as the Apache in the world's worst conflict zones.

AH-64D_DVD-1098-2_375x300.jpg

Beauty. :angel:

I agree with Lunatik, but the Rooivalk has one thing going for it; it's designed to be easily maintained without proper facilities in the African wilderness. But I'm no chopper expert so for all I know the Apache could be just as good in that area.

The helicopter matchup I'd really like to see is Apache vs. Ka-50 Black Shark.

The helicopter matchup I'd really like to see is Apache vs. Ka-50 Black Shark.

Considering capabilities, ease of maintenance, on-paper facts, unit price, political factors, etc. my personal top-5 list would be:

1. AH-1Z / King Cobra (Simply the KING of attack helicopters.)
2. T-129 / Mangusta (Advanced TR version with Comanche engine, A2A capability, SAR, etc.)
3. AH-64 / Apache (Tried and proven tank hunter, but too costy to operate against soft targets.)
4. Mi-28 / Havoc (Heavy butt gunship.)
5. EC665 / Tiger (Eurocopter quality? Or is it just well marketed?)