76ers would love to dump Iverson, losing streak

Team Infidel

Forum Spin Doctor

DAN GELSTON

Associated Press

PHILADELPHIA - The Philadelphia 76ers are still unable to shed Allen Iverson and a wretched losing streak.
The Sixers would love to be rid of both, and soon.
But Iverson was still a Sixer on Tuesday, five days after chairman Ed Snider said they were seeking to deal the seven-time All-Star and former MVP. Instead, it was another day full of unfounded rumors and speculation, but no new home for Iverson and his 31.2 points per game.
Players have grown weary of the daily Iverson interrogations, and insisted after Tuesday's practice the only thing they cared about was ending their longest losing streak in nine years.
"I don't really let (rumors) affect me," Sixers center Samuel Dalembert said. "I've been hearing it for six years, on and off. This time, I think it's a little bit more serious, but other than that, we've got to play through it."
For all the scoring he brought to the Sixers, not even Iverson could make a difference for a franchise sliding toward another draft lottery. The Sixers were stuck in last place when he was placed on in the inactive list Friday, and they're still there after Monday's loss to Portland.
The Sixers take an eight-game losing streak into Wednesday night's game against Boston, their worst skid since April 1997. The Sixers (5-15) have lost 15 of 17 and are tied with Charlotte for the worst record in the Eastern Conference.
Never mind the trade rumors. Nothing is taking a toll on the Sixers quite like the losing. Coach Maurice Cheeks said he's preaching to the Sixers how much he still believes in them.
Perhaps he should raise his voice.