need perspective

LtStryker

I am a student looking for the perspectives of active duty, retired, and reserve officers and enlisted about how you feel about civilian opinions of the modern military and throughout history. Civilians are also free to post their personal opinions or opinions of people they know about the same.

Personal experience outranks acquired knowledge, therein lies the difference.

Exactly!

I have no problem with people sharing their opinions about the military with me as long as they are informed on the matter. I DO have a problem when a person takes what they see on TV and projects that as an authoritive source of knowledge. If you don't know, then don't ask...If you don't really want to hear my opinion on matters because they don't fit with your ideas on the military, then don't ask. If you don't like to be called on your BS because you are wrong, then don't ask. Finally, if the only depth of questions you feel to ask are along the lines of "did you kill anybody?" or "I heard it's not that bad"... then...you guessed it...don't ask!

I am a student looking for the perspectives of active duty, retired, and reserve officers and enlisted about how you feel about civilian opinions of the modern military and throughout history. Civilians are also free to post their personal opinions or opinions of people they know about the same.

I reckon you (ie: civlians) know nothing about the trade or the soldiers.
Just as I don´t know (or particularly care) about civilian opinions.

Opinions are like arseholes, no?
Everybody has one..

As for the media.. "Nothing new in the truth, and no truth in the news.."

KJ sends..

Last edited:
Good question and as a serving member I agree with Brinktk and 42RM and KJ - but I would add that a bit too much political correctness, via civilian Defence Dept authorities, over-steps into military training, discipline and service.

Exactly!