Topic: Is this bogus?

U.S. Cavalry

FAQ/Rules - Search - Military Photo Gallery

  International Military Forums > Military Discussion Forums > Political Discussions
User Name
Password

 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 1
bulldogg
Milforum's Bouncer
 
 
Gear


Post; Is this bogus?


Quote:
Dear Sir/Madam,

we have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites.

Important:
Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.


Yours faithfully,
Steven Allison



++++ Central Intelligence Agency -CIA-
++++ Office of Public Affairs
++++ Washington, D.C. 20505

++++ phone: (703) 482-0623
++++ 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., US Eastern time
I get this in my inbox... with an attachment... virus??
__________________
"The purpose of fighting is to win. There is no possible victory in defense. The sword is more important than the shield and skill is more important than either. The final weapon is the brain. All else is supplemental." - John Steinbeck
 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 2
Whispering Death
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
 
Gear

DEFINATELY bogus.

The CIA will scoop you up in a blackhawk and take you to an undisclosed location if they want to ask you questions... not send you an email!

Oh, and no, the Nigerian bankers ARE NOT going to give you your money back
 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 3
phoenix80
Banned
 
 
Gear


forward it to the CIA with an explanations...!
 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 4
Whispering Death
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
 
Gear

http://today.reuters.com/news/newsAr...C_0_US-FBI.xml

Just ran across this.
 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 5
bulldogg
Milforum's Bouncer
 
 
Gear


Poor Steven Allison, his job is so top secret monitoring my internet activities that even his bosses don't know about his job. I really feel sorry for the poor bastard too, I guess the gig with the CIA wasn't paying enough as I have also received one from him at his FBI job as well. He is a true patriot selflessly serving the cause of a safer world.
 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 6
Missileer
Nuclear Duck Hunter
 
 
Gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldogg
Poor Steven Allison, his job is so top secret monitoring my internet activities that even his bosses don't know about his job. I really feel sorry for the poor bastard too, I guess the gig with the CIA wasn't paying enough as I have also received one from him at his FBI job as well. He is a true patriot selflessly serving the cause of a safer world.
Well, I'll write to you c/o Gitmo.
 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 7
Italian Guy
Milforum Hitman
 
 
Gear

Oh I hadn't checked the link.
__________________
"Freedom is the sure possession of those alone who have the courage to defend it".
Pericles.


 
November 22nd, 2005   Post 8
FULLMETALJACKET
MilForum Bad Apple
 
 
Gear

haha scoop you up in a black hawk. good article whispering
__________________
"For Democracy, any man would give his only begotten son."
 
November 23rd, 2005   Post 9
gladius
Primus Pilus
 
I saw in the TV news yesterday there was a virus email scam saying it came from the FBI.

The people who did this are morons, now the FBI is after them.
 
November 23rd, 2005   Post 10
bulldogg
Milforum's Bouncer
 
 
Gear


I've got their phone number here from the emails. Just tell them to email me and I'll give it to them.

I want to ask the question now that we've had a bit of a laugh. Is this sort of malicious prank inevitible in a mild police state with all the jingoistic fear mongering going on between the White House and the press in the US and abroad? How many people are so nervous from the stories that they thought this was real? Who's fault is it for setting up this situation?