Bipolar and military service

TakakoTompez

I'm considering joining the air force or the army, wanting to become a Chaplain's Assistant.

I have bipolar though, and so far everyone has told me that disqualifies me. I don't even believe my doctor was right about my diagnosis. Does this actually disqualifiy me? and if so, is there anything I can do to get it removed from my medical records?

I had a friend who was bipolar and they let him enlist, so I don't know what the heck.

Get a second opinion, and a third, and a fourth if need be. If you think you don't have the condition, then set out to prove it. If you can disprove it then it shouldn't be a problem. By the way, being in the Australian military I can't really comment on the US military, but I'd assume it'd be pretty similar.

Best of luck.

Disabled people in the military?

dear Takako Tompez
I can compare what you mean...
I enroled into MCJROTC when I was a freshman in High School (i am now a junior) and ever since that very first day, all I have wanted to do is join the military. (Marines especially Oorah!!!) but unfortunately I have epilepsy.
I have had only one single seizure and it was the summer before my freshman year in HS. I have talked to all different types of recruiters and soldiers/Marines asking them what they think about having people with disabilities like mine in the military, but doing jobs that wont put others in danger (like on a base or something). Most of them tell me that they think it would be great if people like me could join.
I am trying to get a second opinion, but I am having trouble getting ahold of a second Doctor.
All I want to do is Help my country.....without hurting my country....because of my disability

Good luck with your Bipolar
and Never give up!!
Cadet 2nd Lieutenant Alison Stinson

bipolar